Wine Epiphany

If you ask any seasoned wine lover “what was the wine that got you into wine?” you will often get an answer almost instantly. I am no exception and although I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to taste many wines over the years from the profound to the forgettable I will always remember the wine that got me into wine. The first wine to really spark my passion and serve me notice that there was more to wine beyond a means to get drunk and impress girls. A wine that at the time sent me into a frenzy of note writing and blew my 21 year old mind with layer after layer of flavours drop-kicking my palate.

St.Hallett Old Block ShirazThat wine for me was the 2002 St.Hallett Old Block Shiraz from Barossa, Australia. The “Old Block” is the top wine of this great estate and is 100% Shiraz from 80-100 year old vines. Those seriously old vines helped to produce a rich, plush and complex Shiraz that is a great example of what Barossa Shiraz is all about. The layers of blueberry, blackberry, raspberry, vanilla, chocolate, spice and a seemingly endless finish left me with a huge, goofy, stained-toothed grin for the rest of the night.

I’ve had to the chance now to enjoy several vintages of this awesome Shiraz and it never disappoints! At the time we paid around $40.00 (I live in Calgary, Alberta, Canada) for the wine and the current vintage still remains close to that price. St.Hallett makes a range of great wines at all price points including the Faith Shiraz and a funky yet delicious Grenache-Shiraz-Touriga Nacional blend that are worth seeking out. For more info on St.Hallett you can visit http://www.sthallett.com.au/.

So if you’ve already had your first big wine epiphany then cudos to you and if your still looking keep at it…you never know what you” find!

Cheers,

Jesse

Leave a Reply

