Best beer in the world? Rochefort 8 gets my vote!

I have a modest collection of wines.  Often I can be found rifling through crates looking for just the right bottle to quench my thirst.  On occasion, I will find just that bottle, however, there are times when no wine will do.  It doesn’t matter that I can choose from many of my favorite regions, or that one of my cabs is “drinking now”, heck, it wouldn’t matter if I was staring down a ’97 Harlan Estate because the fact of the matter is… I want a beer.

Who needs a flashy label when your product is peerless.

Who needs a flashy label when your product is peerless.

What does a wine lover drink when he is craving beer?  Well, I have tried every single beer that I have ever been able to get my hands on, and while I have many favorites I continually come back one beer in particular.  “Trappistes Rochefort 8”.  If you ever have the opportunity to drink this beer then you must not waste it.

The Rochefort brewery was founded sometime in the late 1500’s at the Abbaye St-Remy in south Belgium.  As one of only seven breweries in the world that carries the “Trappist” name, the Monks of the Abbaye St-Remy brew this beer with the same recipe and in the same fashion that is has always been brewed.  As you can imagine, five hundred years of doing one thing, makes for fabulous results.

Rochefort 8 is a dark ale that smells of figs, leather and spice with a complex flavour carrying  notes of bakers chocolate and a subtle hint of caramel.

This beer is quite simply one of the most well respected, highest quality beverages in the world.  The Monks of the Abbaye St-Remy only produce as much beer as is necessary to support the needs of the Abbey, this fact, combined with Rocheforts reputation can make it difficult to find.  However, many specialty wine shops carry it so get out there and hunt some down.  You will not be disappointed.

Comments

  1. I just spent a wonderful hour reading through your blog – and now I want to know where I can get some of the Monk’s brew here in Calgary. Does Bin 905 carry it?

    Thanks!

    Louise

    Reply

Leave a Reply

